Route Review: Hull and along the South Shore

Standard

South Shore 50With plans to do the NE Randonneurs 100k at the end of April, I had been slowly building up my distance.  I did a couple 100mi centuries when I was younger, and a metric century when I lived in Philly, but 100k is longer than I had ridden in a while.

This would be my last chance for a long ride before the actual event, so I wanted to do something more closely approaching the actual distance.  I found a this route while searching on Ride with GPS, and felt like it would be a good trial run.

Hull WindmillThe ride starts in Wompatuck State Park where there is plenty of free parking, and heads from there up to the windmill in Hull before doubling back.  The ride was dead flat through Hull, and really all the way back along the coast down to Scituate.  It was pretty though – lots of views of the Bay and amazing homes on the shoreline.

Things became a bit less interesting once you turn back inland, with only a couple little hills to break things up.  There also wasn’t much in the way of services along here, so be sure to pack all the water/food you need.

By the time I got back into the State Park I was feeling pretty beat, and had to drag myself the last couple miles back to the car.  Overall the ride felt good though, and I wasn’t worried about being able to finish the 100k in a couple weeks.

Route on Ride with GPS

