Festive 500

Standard

Urban Covered BridgeEach year, cycling clothing company Rapha sponsors an event called the “Festive 500” in which riders are challenged to ride 500km between December 24 and 31.  This was the first year I’d heard of it, and while I was pretty sure I couldn’t go the whole 500, I thought I’d give it a try.

I was hampered somewhat by having to work the 24th and 25th, and my wife working the rest of the time, making me daddy daycare for the week.  I did commute to work, but that only represented about 12k in total.  In the end, I only managed two “real” rides, and my total was only 140k, or just over a quarter of the goal.

While I didn’t come close, I was motivated to ride when I otherwise might not have, and it will give me something to shoot for next year.

Leave a Reply

