Route Review: Fells

Standard

FellsNeeding to mix up my rides out of downtown Boston, I mapped out a new route heading up through Cambridge and around the Fells.  This is supposed to stay on roads and not enter the Fells itself, so is doable on a road bike.  At 25ish miles, it’s another good quick ride if you don’t have all day.

The route heads up through Cambridge on smaller side streets to avoid most traffic.  It’s a typical urban ride until you turn onto the Mystic Valley Parkway at mile 8.  This is a scenic route along the Mystic River and Mystic lake leading up to the Fells.  There is a normally nice wide shoulder, but when I last went there was still much of Boston’s record breaking snow on the ground.  Fortunately, there wasn’t too much car traffic so it was doable despite the narrower road.

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 presetThe first time I tried this route I mapped it out to take South Border road along the west side of the Fells.  Turns out this is not so much a road and actually a trail.  I gave it a shot, but wet leaves and mud were too much for my 25mm slick tires, so I remapped it to take a left directly onto Highland Ave.

The loop around the Fells is similarly scenic with a wide shoulder for biking.  Like most rides within 30 miles of Boston, it’s pretty flat, but to be honest it’s all I needed this early in the year.

Thanks to melting snow I came back soaked, and stopped off Back Bay Bikes on the way home to pick up a seatpost-mounted fender for my road bike.  Hopefully that will keep me warmer next time.

Leave a Reply

